image
image
Michigan Consortium of Botanists

Michigan Botanists

This page provides a listing of botanical professionals dedicated to advancing the study of Michigan's flora, as well as their contact information.  We strive to keep the list current and accurate.

Please contact Richard Rabeler if you have any changes or additions to the listings. Last update: Nov. 2011.


Cathy Bach


  Institution: Eastern Michigan University
  Email:
cathy.bach@emich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 487-4242
  FAX: 734/ 487-9235
  Biology Department
West Cross Street
Mark Jefferson Building
Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Robb Bajema


  Institution: Aquinas College
  Email:
bajemrob@aquinas.edu
  Phone: 616/ 632-2182
  FAX:  
  Aquinas College Herbarium
Biology Department
1607 Robinson Road
Grand Rapids, MI 49506-1799

Todd Barkman


  Institution: Western Michigan University
  Email: todd.barkman@wmich.edu
  Phone: 231/ 387-5610
  FAX: 231/ 387-5609
  Biological Sciences Department
West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49008

Tyler Bassett


  Institution: MBC
  Email: keepitsimple7@yahoo.com
  Phone: 269-383-2569
  FAX:  
   

Paul E. Berry


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: peberry@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 615-6200
  FAX: 734/ 998-0038
  University of Michigan Herbarium
3600 Varsity Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2228

Ranessa Cooper


  Institution: Hillsdale College
  Email: rcooper@hillsdale.edu
  Phone: 517/ 607-2224
  FAX: 517/ 607-2252
  Herbarium
Biology Department
Hillsdale College
33 E. College St.
Hillsdale, MI 49242

R. Greg Corace


  Institution: Seney Wildlife Refuge Herbarium
  Email: greg_corace@fws.gov
  Phone: 906/ 586-9851 ext. 14
  FAX: 906/ 586-3800
  Herbarium
Seney National Wildlife Refuge
1674 Refuge Entrance Rd.
Seney, MI 49883

Connie Crancer


  Institution:  
  Email: ccrancer@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/998-7061
  FAX: 734/ 998-6205
  Matthaei Botanical Garden
1800 N. Dixboro Rd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

Garrett Crow


  Institution: Michigan State University
  Email: Garrett.Crow@unh.edu
  Phone: 616/826-2096
  FAX: 517/ 353-1926
  166 Plant Biology Building
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824-1312

David C. Dister


  Institution:  
  Email: david.dister@gmail.com
  Phone: 231/ 845-7574
  FAX:  
  2365 N. Lakeshore Drive
Ludington, MI  49431

Tim Evans


  Institution: Grand Valley State University
  Email: evanstim@gvsu.edu
  Phone: 616/ 331-8704
  FAX: 616/ 895-3446
  Grand Valley State Univ Herbarium
Biology Department
1 Campus Drive
Allendale, MI 49401-9403

Patrick Fields


  Institution: Olivet College
  Email: pfields@olivetcollege.edu
  Phone: 616/ 749-7643
  FAX: 616/ 749-7178
  Olivet College Herbarium
Biology Department
Olivet, MI 49076

Alan M. Fryday


  Institution: Michigan State University
  Email: fryday@msu.edu
  Phone: 517/ 355-4696
  FAX: 517/ 353-1926
  166 Plant Biology Building
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824-1312

Janice Glime


  Institution: Michigan Technological University
  Email: jmglime@mtu.edu
  Phone: 906/ 487-2025
  FAX: 906/ 487-3167
  Michigan Technological University
Cryptogamic Herbarium
Department of Biological Sciences
Michigan Technological Universit
1400 Townsend Dr
Houghton, MI 49931-1295

Gary R. Greer


  Institution: Grand Valley State University
  Email: greerg@gvsu.edu
  Phone: 616/ 895-2474
  FAX: 616/ 895-3446
  Biology Department
1 Campus Drive
Allendale, MI 49401-9403

Robert Grese


  Institution: School of Nat Resources, Univ. of Michigan
  Email: bgrese@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/763-0645
  FAX:  
 

School of Natural Res & Env
3008 Dana Building
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1115


Katherine Gross


  Institution: Kellogg Biological Station, Michigan State University
  Email: lter.data.manager@kbs.msu.edu
  Phone: 269/ 671-2337
  FAX: 269/ 671-2351
  Herbarium
Kellogg Biological Station
Michigan State University
3700 Gull Lake Drive
Hickory Corners, MI 49060-9516

Gary L. Hannan


  Institution: Eastern Michigan University
  Email: ghannan@emich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 487-4242
  FAX: 734/ 487-9235
  Eastern Michigan University Herbarium
Biology Department
West Cross Street
Mark Jefferson Building
Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Carolyn Henne


  Institution: Manistee National Forest
  Email: cbhenne@fs.fed.us
  Phone: 231/723-2211 x3123
  FAX: 231/723-8642
 

Manistee National Forest
Cadillac-Manistee Ranger District
412 Red Apple Rd
Manistee, MI, 49660


Phyllis J. Higman


  Institution:  
  Email: higmanp@michigan.gov
  Phone: 517-373-6983
  FAX:  
  Michigan Natural Features Inventory
PO Box 30444
Lansing, MI 48909-7944

Jeff Hucko


  Institution: Glen Oaks Community College
  Email: jhucko@glenoaks.edu
  Phone: 269/ 294-4204
  FAX:  
  Glen Oaks Community College
62249 Shimmel Road
Centreville MI 49032

Dennis C. Jackson


  Institution: Eastern Michigan University
  Email: djackson@emich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 487-4242
  FAX: 734/ 487-9235
  Eastern Michigan University Herbarium
Biology Department
West Cross Street
Mark Jefferson Building
Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Daniel Kashian


  Institution: MBC-HVC
  Email: ba8704@wayne.edu
  Phone: 313/577-9093
  FAX: 313/577-6891
 

Biological Sciences Department
Wayne State University
1360 Biological Sciences Bldg.
5047 Gullen Mall
Detroit, Michigan, 48202


Judy Kelly


  Institution: MBC-HVC
  Email:
jkelly@hfcc.edu
  Phone: 313-845-9728
  FAX:  
  11829 Canton Center
Plymouth, MI 48170

Margaret (Maggie) Hanes


  Institution: Eastern Michigan University
  Email: koopma2@emich.edu
  Phone: 734/487-4394
  FAX: 734/ 487-9235
  Eastern Michigan University Herbarium
Biology Department
West Cross Street
Mark Jefferson Building
Ypsilanti, MI 48197

Pam Laureto


  Institution: Grand Rapids Community College
  Email: plaureto@grcc.edu
  Phone: 616/ 456-4847
  FAX:  
  Herbarium
Grand Rapids Community College
143 Bostwick Avenue, N.E.
Grand Rapids, MI 49503-3295


Jeffrey C. Levin


  Institution: Michigan Technological University
  Email: jclevin@mtu.edu
  Phone: 906/ 487-3435
  FAX: 906/ 487-3167
  Michigan Technological University
Cryptogamic Herbarium
Department of Biological Sciences
Michigan Technological Universit
1400 Townsend Dr
Houghton, MI 49931-1295

Jianhua Li


  Institution: Hope College
  Email: li@hope.edu
  Phone: 616/ 395-7460
  FAX: 616/ 395-7125
  35 E 12th St.
Holland, MI 49423

Sheila Lyons-Sobeski


  Institution: Albion College
  Email: SSobaski@albion.edu
  Phone: 517/ 629-0649
  FAX: 517/ 629-0264
 

Biology Department
Albion College
611 E Porter Street
Albion, MI 49224


Janet Marr


  Institution:  
  Email: jkmarr@mtu.edu
  Phone: 906/ 337-5529
  FAX:  
  23180 Highway Rd.
Calumet, MI 49913

William Martinus


  Institution: MBC-WPC
  Email: wmartinus@charter.net
  Phone: 616/ 846-4332
  FAX:  
  17300 Beach Ridge Way
West Olive, MI 49460

Patricia Ruta McGhan


  Institution: Manistee National Forest
  Email: pruta@fs.fed.us
  Phone: 231/745-4631 x 3102
  FAX: 231/745-2345
 

Manistee National Forest
P.O. Drawer D
Baldwin MI 49304


David Michener


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: michener@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 998-6205
  FAX:  
  Matthaei Botanical Garden
1800 N. Dixboro Rd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

Anna K. Monfils


  Institution: Central Michigan University
  Email: monfi1ak@cmich.edu
  Phone: 989/774-2492
  FAX: 989/ 774-3462
  CMC Herbarium
103 Brooks Hall
Central Michigan University
Mount Pleasant, MI 48859

Larry Nooden


  Institution: MBC-HVC
  Email: ldnum@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 764-4436
  FAX:  
  Biology Department
Univ. of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1048

Mark Oemke


  Institution: Alma College
  Email: oemke@alma.edu
  Phone: 517/ 463-7235
  FAX: 517/ 463-7235
  Alma College Herbarium
Biology Department
614 Superior Street
Alma, MI 48801-1599

Jess Peirson


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: peirsonj@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 615-6200
  FAX: 734/ 998-0038
  University of Michigan Herbarium
3600 Varsity Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2228

Michael Penskar


  Institution: Michigan Natural Features Inventory
  Email: penskarm@michigan.gov
  Phone:  
  FAX:  
   

Jackie Pilette


  Institution: Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians
  Email: jpilette@ltbbodawa-nsn.gov
  Phone: 231/ 242-1684
  FAX: 231/ 242-1690
  Little Traverse Bay Band of the Odawa Indians
Natural Resources Department
7500 Odawa Circle
Harbor Springs, MI 49740

L. Alan Prather


  Institution: Michigan State University
  Email: alan@plantbiology.msu.edu
  Phone: 517/ 355-4695
  FAX: 517/ 353-1926
  166 Plant Biology Building
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824-1312

Robert Preston


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email:  
  Phone: 734/ 615-6200
  FAX: 734/ 998-0038
  University of Michigan Herbarium
3600 Varsity Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2228

Richard K. Rabeler


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: rabeler@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 615-6200
  FAX: 734/ 998-0038
  University of Michigan Herbarium
3600 Varsity Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2228

Alan J. Rebertus


  Institution: Northern Michigan University
  Email: arebertu@nmu.edu
  Phone: 906/ 227-2351; 227-2310
  FAX: 906/ 227-2013
  Northern Michigan University Herbarium
Biology Department
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855-5301

Anton A. Reznicek


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: reznicek@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 615-6200
  FAX: 734/ 998-0038
  University of Michigan Herbarium
3600 Varsity Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2228

Pat Rogers


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: rogersp@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 615-6200
  FAX: 734/ 998-0038
  University of Michigan Herbarium
3600 Varsity Driv
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2228

Bobbi Jones Sabine


  Institution: MBC
  Email: aamazonwoman@juno.com
  Phone: 616/844-5092
  FAX: 616/844-5092
 

Aamazon Natural Resources Consulting, LLC
703 Lake Av.
Grand Haven, MI 49417


Janet Salzwedel


  Institution: Adrian College
  Email: jsalzwedel@adrian.edu
  Phone: 517/ 264-3928
  FAX: 517/ 264-3181
  Adrian College Herbarium
Biology Department
Adrian, MI 49221

Greg J. Schmidt


  Institution: USDA - Natural Resources Conservation Service
  Email: greg.schmidt@mi.usda.gov
  Phone: 517/285-7911
  FAX:  
  Ecological Site Inventory Specialist
USDA - Natural Resources Conservation Service
3260 Eagle Park Dr. NE, Suite 104
Grand Rapids, MI 49525-4569

Ian Shackleford 


  Institution: Ottawa National Forest
  Email: ishackleford@fs.fed.us
  Phone: 906/ 932-1330 ext. 331
  FAX: 906/ 932-0122
  Ottawa National Forest Herbarium
E6248 US2
Ironwood, MI 49938

James D. Skean, Jr.


  Institution: Albion College
  Email: dskean@albion.edu
  Phone: 517/ 629-0525
  FAX: 517/ 629-0509
  Albion College Herbarium
Biology Department
611 E. Porter Street
Albion, MI 49224

Brad Slaughter


  Institution:  
  Email: slaughterb@michigan.gov
  Phone:  
  FAX:  
   

Anthony L. Swinehart


  Institution: Hillsdale College
  Email: aswinehart@hillsdale.edu
  Phone: 517/ 607-2607
  FAX:  
  D.M. Fisk Museum of Natural History
Strosacker Science Center, Room 214
Hillsdale College
33 E. College St.
Hillsdale, MI 49242

Catherine Tarasoff


  Institution:  
  Email: ctarasof@mtu.edu
  Phone:  
  FAX:  
   

Sue Trull  


  Institution: Ottawa National Forest
  Email: strull@fs.fed.us
  Phone: 906/ 932-1330 ext. 312  
  FAX: 906/ 932-0122
  Ottawa National Forest Herbarium
E6248 US2
Ironwood, MI 49938

Robert J. Vande Kopple


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: bvk@umich.edu
  Phone: 231/ 539-8407
  FAX: 231/ 539-8785
  Herbarium
University of Michigan Biological Station
9133 Biological Road
Pellston, MI 49769

Glenn Vande Water


  Institution: Vande Water Natural Reource Services
  Email: gvwnrs@sbcglobal.net
  Phone: 906/ 399-6267
  FAX:  
  Vande Water Natural Resource Services
429 Ogden Ave
Escanaba, MI 49829

Theresa Van Veelen


  Institution: Muskegon Community College
  Email: theresa.vanveelen@muskegoncc.edu
  Phone: 231/ 773-0672 ; 231/ 773-0273
  FAX:  
  Muskegon Community College Herbarium
Life Science Department
221 South Quarterline Road
Muskegon, MI 49442

Bev Walters


  Institution: University of Michigan
  Email: waltersb@umich.edu
  Phone: 734/ 615-6200
  FAX: 734/ 998-0038
  University of Michigan Herbarium
3600 Varsity Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2228

David Warners


  Institution: Calvin College
  Email: dwarners@calvin.edu
  Phone: 616/ 526-6820
  FAX:  
  3201 Burton SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546

Earl E. Werner


  Institution: U of Michigan - E.S. George Reserve
  Email: eewerner@umich.edu
  Phone: 616/ 526-6820
  FAX:  
  E.S. George Reserve Herbarium,
University of Michigan
9250 Doyle Rd.
Pinckney, MI 48169

Dennis W. Woodland


  Institution: Andrews University
  Email: woody@andrews.edu
  Phone: 616/ 471-3240
  FAX: 616/ 471-6911
  Andrews University Herbarium
Biology Department
Science Complex
112 Price Hall
Berrien Springs, MI 49104-0410

Greg Zimmerman


  Institution: Lake Superior State University Herbarium
  Email: gzimmerman@lssu.edu
  Phone: 906/ 635-2470
  FAX:  
  Department of Biology
Lake Superior State University
650 W. Easterday Ave.
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783